National Portrait Gallery calls for entries to its Photographic Portrait Prize 2018

3rd place winner for 2017: One of Them Is a Human #1 by Maija Tammi (Erica Erato Ishiguro Symbiotic Human-Robot Interaction Project) © Maija Tammi

Entry is now open for the Taylor Wessing Photographic Portrait Prize 2018, the leading international photographic portrait competition, which celebrates and promotes the very best in contemporary portrait photography.

The National Portrait Gallery in London is inviting submissions from now until Tuesday 12 June 2018. The annual contest is open to everyone aged 18 and over from around the world.

Photographers are encouraged to interpret portrait in its widest sense of photography concerned with portraying people with an emphasis on their identity as individuals. The winner will receive £15,000.

Since the international competition began in 1993, it has established a reputation for creativity and excellence, with works submitted by a range of photographers, from leading professionals to talented amateurs and the most exciting emerging artists.

To enter, photographers are required to upload their image(s) via the website. All images will be viewed anonymously by a panel of judges and the entrants who are successful in this round will be invited to deliver their work to a venue in London for the final round of physical judging.

For the fourth year running, entrants to the competition are being encouraged to submit works as a series – either a group of individual portraits based on a particular theme or two or more photographs that form a single portrait when shown together – in addition to stand-alone portraits. One series of photographs submitted to the competition may be chosen by the judges to be exhibited in its entirety. There is no minimum size requirement for submitted prints.

Also for the fourth year running there will be an In Focus display within the Taylor Wessing Photographic Portrait Prize exhibition devoted to the work of one distinguished photographer but not part of the competition. This accolade has been awarded to Pieter Hugo in 2015, Cristina de Middel in 2016 and Todd Hido in 2017. Go to to find out more or to enter.